Solid action-by-numbers with heaps of Jason Momoa.  

In many ways this is probably more representative of him branching out into film production than anything new as an actor.  There’s a heartfelt set-up story about an ageing father, a cute daughter (not Momoa’s own, but the onscreen chemistry is great), and a complication involving drug-running in a cabin in the icy woods.  Much shooting, fighting and survival tactics ensue.  I kind of wanted to be able to say it was sacrilege that this didn’t get a cinema release, but I guess it’s not quite up there.

Like I said, nothing gobsmacking or novel, except perhaps the ending to the final showdown… that was really weird.  Plenty of bow and arrows and hatchet throwing.  Shooting.   Punching on.  Like I said, action-by-numbers.  Not amazing, not bad.  

Where it does have strength is in setting – the whole thing is set in the snow.  I can’t remember the last time I saw a film so wholly snowbound, except perhaps Everest where everyone froze to death.  This isn’t a desolate mountain, it’s a snow-spangled forest with a cabin in the woods and snowy mountains and rocks and icy boulders on the oceanic coastline.  I was quite taken with the scenery.

J* gives it 3 stars.

PS.  My partner was all “Oh yeah, tit-man” and I was all “nah, it’s set in the snow, I don’t reckon he takes his shirt off once.”  I was wrong.  They found a way.

<review written in 2018>